Sagrado Corazón de Jesús Parish
In 1917 the brother Jacinto María de Quito -a missionary- constructed the first temple made in wood with a wicker roof; then in 1926, according to the parrochial books, the father Lorenzo de Pupíales figured as the responsible of the church, he was a capuchin friar. However, the date of construction of the "Sagrado Corazón de Jesús" parish is not known exactly. One of the great founders of the parish was the father Juan Salateo who was the architect and designer of the work, he worked closely with several settlers among them Mr. Neftalí Ciceri and Nabor Muñoz, the material used for building the parish was brought -on the shoulders of the workers- from a village known as "Aguas Calientes". Between the reforms in the parish, we can notice that the choir is not singing anymore and the facilities has been painted several times.
The architecture of "Sagrado Corazón de Jesús" parish is very simple. It has a nave and its interior is decorated with semicircular arches, in the atrium lies the image of the "Sagrado Corazón de Jesús"Its architecture (Jesus's Sacred Heart) and several stained glass windows that represent the sequence of the stations of the cross of Jesus Christ. In the town and in the church is performed the celebration to the patron saint "Sagrado Corazón de Jesús", in every June. Within the parish there are missionary groups of young people, children and elderly people. There is also a prayer group.